Long time ago significant access roads to Lithuania of the crusaders crossed the territory of Tauragė, but there is not much precise data on the development of the city. In 1507, the name of the city was first mention in written sources with regard to the establishment of the church, school and shelter. Since then town kept expanding, and in 1526, it was already marked in the maps.
During the time Tauragė found itself in a variety of ethnic, religious and political worlds. Sometimes this land had to be the wall between these worlds and other times – the bridge between them. As a result, the land has acquired its own unique character.