In order to preserve the most beautiful places of Lazdijai district, two regional parks were established. Meteliai Regional Park includes the lakes of Dusia, Metelys, Obelija and their magnificent surroundings. The Visitor Centre located inside the territory of Meteliai Regional Park is a true school of nature. The park’s landscape can be best seen from the top of the observation tower from which everyone can admire the wonderful panorama of Dusia and Metelys lakes. The Veisiejai Regional Park Visitor Center is located in the pavilion of the former Veisiejai Manor, where visitors can also learn about the history of this manor and see genuine baroque vaulted cellars. Another unique landmark in Veisiejai is the fountain a fountain with light and sound installation that is situated in the Ančia Lake near the well-maintained Veisiejai town park. It is the only fountain in Lithuania that is installed inside a lake. The scenic view of Veisiejai town and Snaigynas lake can be admired from the top of the Veisiejai observation tower.
In the Lazdijai region
people can get acquainted with the heritage of the manors. One of the most significant and largest manors in the whole Dzūkija region, based on the architectural and historical aspect, is Aštrioji Kirsna Manor. It has 18 preserved manor buildings of classicistic and romantic styles. The palace is surrounded by a huge park with ponds and bridges.
The history of Lazdijai region
is also famous for its legendary mounds. There are 24 of them in the area. The most famous and most visited by the tourists are Rudamina, Paveisininkai and Prelomčiškė mounds. Every mound contains a certain legend, a history that makes each of them unique. The mounds and the settlements, sanctuaries, cemeteries, old roads surrounding them are the values that strengthen the identity of the Lithuanian nation.
Lazdijai district has 16 churches, each with its own architecture and size. The most visited by the tourists is The Chapel of Holy Virgin Mary Queen of the Rosary. A cross shaped road leads from this temple to Dusia lake. It is believed, that the sand for this road was brought here from the holy city – Jerusalem. Veisiejai Church of St. George, often referred to as the Cathedral of Dzūkija, was started to build in 1762 on the initiative of the Lithuanian Grand Hetman Mykolas Masalskis. The church of Baroque structure and classicistic forms was finished in 1818. Visitors can admire a variety of artworks and wood carvings inside the church.
The modernized horse racecourse of Lazdijai hosts national and international events. A 500-viewer platform is designed for easy monitoring of ongoing activities. The upgraded stables and shelter for horses, auxiliary facilities, horse running (track length of 1400 m) and hiking trails, and the judges tower make it one of the most modern horse racecourses in the country. The most popular event taking place at the Lazdijai Horse Racecourse is the annual February 16th international horse race.